Language acquisition

The acquisition of the German language is an important prerequisite for professional integration in particular.

Access to the integration courses of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF) depends on the residence status. For persons who are still in the asylum procedure, the country of origin (presumed prospects of staying) and the date of entry into Germany (before/after 01.08.2019) are decisive. For persons with a Duldung, participation is only open if they have a discretionary Duldung (e.g. training Duldung). Access to a job-related German language support program (DeuFöV) of the BAMF is open to persons without a residence permit after three months of permitted stay or after six months of tolerated stay in the context of professional integration. The accesses are presented in an overview of the GGUA Flüchtlingshilfe (March 2020): https://www.einwanderer.net/fileadmin/downloads/tabellen_und_uebersichten/sprachfoerderung2019.pdf

Through the Start Deutsch state program, German language courses at various language levels are offered throughout Thuringia for individuals without access to BAMF integration courses. In addition, individual model projects "Work and Language Acquisition" are carried out. Information on the Start Deutsch state program can be found here: https://www.vhs-th.de/start-deutsch/

Finding the right language course is sometimes not easy. The "Language Support" working group (AG II) of the Thuringian State Integration Advisory Council has therefore compiled an overview for Thuringia entitled "German as a Second Language: Offers for New Immigrants". It lists offers in the initial reception facilities and in the districts and independent cities. The overview is structured according to age groups. The focus is on courses and language learning opportunities funded by the federal government and the state of Thuringia. The brochure is updated regularly.

The Thuringian State Integration Advisory Board has also produced a brochure "German as a Second Language: Language Certificates at a Glance" to ensure greater confidence in understanding or using language certificates.

Both brochures can be found at: https://justiz.thueringen.de/ministerium/lib/arbeitsgruppe

If you have any questions about language acquisition, please contact an LAT project near you. The project staff are familiar with the courses on offer locally. Some LAT projects also offer job-related language training.

Spracherwerb

Gerade für die berufliche Integration ist der Erwerb der deutschen Sprache eine wichtige Voraussetzung.

Der Zugang zu den Integrationskursen des Bundesamtes für Migration und Flüchtlinge (BAMF) ist abhängig vom Aufenthaltsstatus. Für Personen, die sich noch im Asylverfahren befinden ist das Herkunftsland (vermeintliche Bleibeperspektive) und das Datum der Einreise nach Deutschland (vor/nach dem 01.08.2019) entscheidend. Für Personen mit einer Duldung ist die Teilnahme nur bei Besitz einer Ermessensduldung (z.B. Ausbildungsduldung) geöffnet. Der Zugang zu einer berufsbezogenen Deutschsprachförderung (DeuFöV) des BAMF ist für Personen ohne eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach drei Monaten gestattetem Aufenthalt offen oder nach sechs Monaten geduldetem Aufenthalt im Kontext der beruflichen Integration. Die Zugänge werden in einer Übersicht der GGUA Flüchtlingshilfe dargestellt (März 2020): https://www.einwanderer.net/fileadmin/downloads/tabellen_und_uebersichten/sprachfoerderung2019.pdf

Über das Landesprogramm Start Deutsch werden für Personen ohne Zugang zu den BAMF-Integrationskursen Thüringenweit Deutschsprachkurse in verschiedene Sprachniveaus angeboten. Darüber hinaus werden einzelne Modellprojekte "Arbeit und Spracherwerb" durchgeführt. Informationen zum Landesprogramm Start Deutsch finden Sie hier: https://www.vhs-th.de/start-deutsch/

Den passenenden Sprachkurs zu finden ist mitunter nicht leicht. Die Arbeitsgruppe "Sprachliche Förderung" (AG II) des Thüringer Landesintegrationsbeirats hat deshalb für Thüringen eine Übersicht mit dem Titel "Deutsch als Zweitsprache: Angebote für neu Zugewanderte" erarbeitet. Sie führt Angebote in den Erstaufnahmeeinrichtungen und in den Landkreisen und kreisfreien Städten auf. Die Übersicht ist nach Altersgruppen gegliedert. Im Vordergrund stehen vom Bund und vom Land Thüringen geförderte Kurse und Sprachlernangebote. Die Broschüre wird regelmäßig aktualisiert.

Der Thüringer Landesintegrationsbeirat hat außerdem eine Broschüre "Deutsch als Zweitsprache: Sprachzertifikate im Überblick" erstellt, um mehr Sicherheit im Verständnis bzw. in der Verwendung von Sprachzertifikaten zu gewährleisten.

Beide Broschüren finden Sie unter: https://justiz.thueringen.de/ministerium/lib/arbeitsgruppe

Kontaktieren Sie bei Fragen zum Spracherwerb gerne auch ein LAT-Projekt in Ihrer Nähe. Die Projektmitarbeiter*innen kennen die Kursangebote vor Ort. Zum Teil bieten auch LAT-Projekte eine berufsbezogene Sprachförderung an.