School leaving certificate/professional basic education

A school-leaving qualification is an important prerequisite for participation in social life and entry into the labor market. There are the following options for obtaining a school leaving certificate and/or at least catching up on basic vocational training in Thuringia.

Persons up to the age of 18 and less than 10 proven years of school attendance are required to attend school in Thuringia (ten-year full-time compulsory education). These young people can be educated at a general education school or a vocational school in order to fulfill their compulsory education.

At vocational schools, students can complete a vocational preparation year ( BVJ) to obtain a certificate equivalent to a secondary school diploma. Depending on the language level and individual technical support needs, students can also attend special support classes before the BVJ (Vorklasse, BVJ Sprache). It is also possible to attend the BVJ-S and BVJ after completing compulsory full-time schooling.

Young adults between the ages of 18 and 35 who are no longer subject to compulsory schooling and who do not have sufficient language and technical skills to obtain a school-leaving certificate or take up vocational training can be supported via the state program Start Bildung. Information on the Start Bildung state program can be found here: https://www.vhs-th.de/der-projektbereich-des-tvv-ev/start-bildung

The goal of the Start Bildung qualification is the transition to a BVJ (or BVJ-S) or to vocational preparation training measures of the Employment Agency (BvB), in which a qualification equivalent to the Hauptschulabschluss can be acquired.

The LAT project Perspective HSA prepares long-term unemployed and not long-term unemployed refugees up to the age of 27, who have completed compulsory schooling or are exempt from it upon application to the education authority, for an external secondary school leaving certificate in cooperation with the Jobcenter in Erfurt.

Schulabschluss/fachliche Grundbildung

Ein Schulabschluss ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Teilhabe am gesellschaftlichen Leben und den Einstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt. Es gibt folgende Möglichkeiten, um einen Schulabschluss zu erwerben und/oder zumindest eine fachliche Grundbildung in Thüringern nachzuholen.

Personen bis zu einem Alter von 18 Jahren und weniger als 10 nachgewiesenen Schulbesuchsjahren sind in Thüringen schulpflichtig (zehnjährige Vollzeitschulpflicht). Diese Jugendlichen können an einer allgemeinbildenden oder einer berufsbildenden Schule beschult werden, um ihre Schulpflicht zu erfüllen.

An den berufsbildenden Schulen können Schüler*innen im Rahmen eines Berufsvorbereitungsjahres (BVJ) einen dem Hauptschulabschluss gleichwertigen Abschluss erwerben. Je nach Sprachniveau und individuellen fachlichen Förderbedarfen können vor dem BVJ zudem spezielle Förderklassen (Vorklasse, BVJ Sprache) besucht werden. Der Besuch des BVJ-S und des BVJ ist auch nach Erfüllung der Vollzeitschulpflicht möglich.

Über das Landesprogramm Start Bildung können junge Erwachsene im Alter von 18 bis 35 Jahren, die nicht mehr der Schulpflicht unterliegen und keine ausreichenden sprachlichen und fachlichen Kenntnisse für den Erwerb eines Schulabschlusses oder die Aufnahme einer Ausbildung haben, gefördert werden. Informationen zum Landesprogramm Start Bildung finden Sie hier: https://www.vhs-th.de/der-projektbereich-des-tvv-ev/start-bildung

Ziel der Qualifizierung Start Bildung ist der Übergang in ein BVJ (oder BVJ-S) oder in Berufsvorbereitende Bildungsmaßnahmen der Agentur für Arbeit (BvB), in denen ein dem Hauptschulabschluss gleichwertige Abschluss erworben werden kann.

Das LAT-Projekt Perspektive HSA bereitet in Kooperation mit dem Jobcenter in Erfurt langzeitarbeitslose und nicht langzeitarbeitslose Geflüchtete bis 27 Jahren, die die Schulpflicht erfüllt haben bzw. auf Antrag beim Schulamt davon befreit sind, auf einen externen Hauptschulabschluss vor.